Doors

Doors are in! Here’s a video showing stairs, slabs and doors:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GVaezhLi6KQ

I think in one of the last posts I said that doors will be “easier”. Aha. They weren’t. Why is it always like that, you think something will be easy and you have a plan, and then a million little things happen? Do you know that there are 16 variants of each door? 4 directions, open or closed, left-handed or right-handed? The geometry needs to be mirrored and normals flipped. And then there is top and bottom parts which have to be kept in sync (doors are 2 blocks high). My brain almost exploded when I was coding that. It’s quite amazing that such a simple thing as doors can be so complex :-)

On top of that doors turned out to be a new special case for collisions. This is because when you open or close them, their collision geometry changes, and woe to you if you are standing in their way! Had to add some code to push you to the side.

Btw. at the moment there are 3 types of doors: wooden door, iron door and cell door.

Next thing on my list are ladders. I still haven’t got a definite date for Alpha 1.2. My plan was to make it a quick one, but if ladders are as bad as doors then no way.

17 Comments

  1. MatthewK.
    Posted December 4, 2011 at 05:44 | Permalink | Reply

    I really need that sneaking so please hurry and to save time cant you make ladders 2D

  2. Code5
    Posted December 4, 2011 at 06:58 | Permalink | Reply

    remember murphy’s law my friend :)

    just when you think you got everything handled good old murphy will throw a wrench in there

    • Code5
      Posted December 4, 2011 at 07:05 | Permalink | Reply

      oh, btw, could you possibly make iron a bit more common in the next release? :)
      cuz…i’ve found 3 spots containing iron at the Very bottom of a few DEEEEEEP caves and got 11 blocks total of iron

  3. Callum James Yates
    Posted December 4, 2011 at 09:52 | Permalink | Reply

    I’m just wondering. That video. Did you take it from your phone or on emulator?

    Because video would be a step up from the old screenshotting. Oh and also. Would you be able to hide the UI when you take shots. And also I have a post on the forum about an external application for screenshots.

    Thanks
    Calgen

    • LUCKYSHOT52
      Posted December 4, 2011 at 16:26 | Permalink | Reply

      Hey calgen I think it was he emulator because their were crosshairs if I’m wrong its probably a 3-rd party app but video would be awesome

    • Posted December 4, 2011 at 23:20 | Permalink | Reply

      Good idea about hiding the UI. I added it to the settings and it’s now hidden by default.

    • Posted December 5, 2011 at 18:44 | Permalink | Reply

      The video was taken on a PC running my debug build.

  4. zxcvbad
    Posted December 5, 2011 at 02:05 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, I’ve had some difficulties in mining and getting iron, I’ve explored about 6 ridiculously deep and huge caves and accidentally I found a little iron in one of them, I’ve also digged so deep that I’ve managed to get to the end, probably there is a limit as I’ve had this: https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/Public/Survivalcraft%202011-12-03%2022-05-50.jpg?w=af4255fe it’s not possible to get any deeper :) How do I mine to find more iron? At some caves amount of blocks I’ve mined is pretty wide, something like distance 70, high 5, wide 16. And also I’ve made very long tunnel under the ocean, I wasn’t counting but its around 600 blocks in a distance, there was gravel, sandstone, stone, sand but I haven’t found any iron, except that little amount I’ve found before. And could you tell me if its gonna be possible to mine any deeper that I’ve got? Or it will be lava ? What is actual limit, how many blocks? :)

    • Posted December 5, 2011 at 18:47 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi zxcvbad. You shouldn’t need to mine that deep to find the iron. The deposits start almost right below the surface. I think you must have been pretty unlucky – it’s all randomly generated after all :-(

  5. zxcvbad
    Posted December 5, 2011 at 02:12 | Permalink | Reply

    And this is how it looks from different angle :) https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/Public/Survivalcraft%202011-12-02%2023-15-49.jpg?w=b368d54f

    • minirlzrnova
      Posted December 6, 2011 at 07:10 | Permalink | Reply

      Obviously there isn’t going to be any in the sea only sand there the world is randomly generated if you did even a little research you would have found that there is plenty around the place just look elsewhere find natural mines, why would anyone focus that time in a single spot anyway? There’s clearly none around find a different spot/mine.

  6. Hmar9333
    Posted December 5, 2011 at 03:46 | Permalink | Reply

    Well I started a new world with the same seed, very quickly found just over 60 iron by searching caves near the surface. Underground, however, in my mine, I haven’t found anything yet, coal or iron.

    • Hmar9333
      Posted December 5, 2011 at 03:46 | Permalink | Reply

      Doors are looking great by the way, can’t wait to put them in my house :D

  7. Posted December 5, 2011 at 10:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Just wait until you invent the wheel! ;-)

  8. Leah perry
    Posted May 18, 2013 at 02:04 | Permalink | Reply

    How do you make a garage door?

  9. Posted May 28, 2013 at 18:10 | Permalink | Reply

    kaalus,what you think about my idea:wires can pass under slabs

  10. Jessica Jacoby
    Posted June 12, 2013 at 03:47 | Permalink | Reply

    Please tell me!!! I am am a beginner in survival craft and need u to boost me so I can impress a lot of friends! !!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

