Getting closer to update

I have two important things remaining to be added before I plan to submit the update for certification: sleeping and setting respawn point. These will actually be connected, you will respawn near the place where you last slept. Unlike Minecraft, I want sleeping to be not just for skipping the night, but required to keep yourself healthy, just as eating or drinking. If you don’t sleep for a long time you will start to slowly lose health (or some similar effect). But this will come later when I come to implementing the survival features. In the first update, sleeping will be optional.

When I get to the point of sending the update out, I will publish the list of changes here.

39 Comments

  1. Posted November 22, 2011 at 12:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Kalaas – it is amazing how much you are adding to only the first update, and how quickly you have done it. I can imagine Minecraft might have been completed a lot faster if they could respond to feedback and implement changes as quickly as you are.

    I am really glad I bought this game, you have produced a game of exceptional quality and it will only get better, I am excited to see what is coming.

    So really great work and keep it up, I really hope this is a financial sucess for you. The only thing that would make it better for me would be if it was live enabled with achievements, perhaps you might consider that once it is more feature complete?

    Thanks again, I am retiring to my castle to wait for the next update.

    PS how will multiplayer work, will that be only over wifi? Will you be able to visit other peoples worlds?

    Thanks!

    • Posted November 22, 2011 at 13:04 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Hal. I am happy that you like Survivalcraft. As for Minecraft development being slower – remember that Notch had to invent and try out all the game design ideas as well. I am standing on the shoulders of a giant from Sweden here, so no wonder I can move more quickly. Multiplayer details – I have no idea yet, sorry :-) I will cross that bridge when I get to it.

  2. TGZRyo
    Posted November 22, 2011 at 12:41 | Permalink | Reply

    Awesome update news. Hopefully I will be playing on a 2nd Gen device in a week.

  3. Posted November 22, 2011 at 13:14 | Permalink | Reply

    Hello, I’m French and I do not speak English (translation google sorry). But I wanted to say congratulations for your work on Survivalcraft. Good luck for the future and urge the update.

  4. Basti
    Posted November 22, 2011 at 14:07 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus,

    Beeing a Minecraft player, Survivalcraft is the first game that I purchased for Windows Phone after one year now and I’m telling everybody who also owns a Windows Phone :) I really appreciate your talent, your motivation and your skillz :) keep on updating this great game!
    Now I’m really proud of using a Winodws Phone because our Survivalcraft is so much better than the original Minecraft Portable versions for Android and IOS :D

    I really like your idea of using the bed/sleeping mechanism for more than a simple spawnpoint and health regeneration. But I’m not a fan of the original Minecraft food system that drains your healthbar.
    I liked the approach in Wurmonline (antecessor of Minecraft) to implement a samina bar that is filled by eating/drinking or sleeping. When your stamina is at zero, all your actions are slower or less powerfull.

    Maybe you could think about the idea of implementing a stamina system…maybe just discreet white (or green) outlines around the healthbar hearts that appear/disappear to keep the gui clean.

    Do you have any plans for tweaking the performance? On my HTC Mozart it runs ok on normal settings, but the original Minecraft Portable seems to run much smoother (at least, when I watch it on the videos on youtube)

    I’m really looking forward to the first update! :)

    • Posted November 22, 2011 at 14:25 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Bastian. Thank you for the feedback. I have not yet decided how exactly “survival” elements will work in this game, so your ideas are very welcome.

      As for the performance, here’s my excuse – on Android and iOS the devs can use native code and shaders, and also these devices have more powerful GPUs. On Windows Phone I am limited to managed code, and have no shaders. So no wonder it runs much smoother elsewhere. I don’t think I can squeeze much more performance out of it without sacrificing content, maybe ten percent if I spent a lot of time.

      But all is not lost, there are 2nd gen phones out there that run it much smoother. I may also implement a setting to switch off fog, that should give it some boost.

      • Basti
        Posted November 22, 2011 at 19:48 | Permalink | Reply

        So you had to do all the lighting and AO stuff without shaders? Ok thats an excuse! :D
        So my Windows Phone proudness just shrunk a bit :D
        Just focus on the new features! :)

      • Daniel Jackson
        Posted November 22, 2011 at 20:21 | Permalink | Reply

        It runs absolutely fantastic on normal with my samsung focus. I can even use extended comfortably but I prefer normal because it is much smoother. Not sure how anyone else is having problems.

  5. MarKre
    Posted November 22, 2011 at 14:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Kaalus! I’m sorry, but my English is very poor (Bing translator). ;) First a very thick praise, because the game is already now graphically superbly implemented and will probably still a few surprises with it for the future. A question: Can you help to translate the game into German? Continue so!

  6. Posted November 22, 2011 at 15:07 | Permalink | Reply

    For a French translation I can help

  7. jriot10
    Posted November 22, 2011 at 16:02 | Permalink | Reply

    I can’t wait for the beds!!! I have already made 10 bedrooms. Kaalus could you consider putting a help option in the game that goes over controls, settings, and crafting items. Thanks!!

    • Posted November 22, 2011 at 18:08 | Permalink | Reply

      10 bedrooms?! man how big is your house? lol I have a castle I carved out of a mountain, with a large set of caverns I am altering below it :)

      • jriot10
        Posted November 22, 2011 at 21:11 | Permalink | Reply

        Most of my house is underground but its pretty big.

      • Posted November 22, 2011 at 21:15 | Permalink | Reply

        yeah a lot of my castle is underground, found a HUGE cavern under the mountain I started building on. Been shaping the cavern to be more regularly shaped and hidden from the outside :)

      • jriot10
        Posted November 22, 2011 at 23:35 | Permalink | Reply

        There’s caverns in the game??

      • Posted November 22, 2011 at 23:46 | Permalink | Reply

        Yes. Just keep digging and searching. Youll find them eventually.

  8. Daniel Jackson
    Posted November 22, 2011 at 20:23 | Permalink | Reply

    I wish we could take screenshots in wp7 without homebrew so we could all share this buildings of ours. I made a small square glass house with lights built into the walls but nothing like castles or bedrooms. I would love to somehow see some of these designs you guys have made.

  9. Posted November 22, 2011 at 20:52 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Daniel. Screenshots feature is already in the update. It will save a screenshot to your pictures library on the phone.

    • Basti
      Posted November 22, 2011 at 21:03 | Permalink | Reply

      Thats awesome! :)

    • Daniel Jackson
      Posted November 22, 2011 at 21:25 | Permalink | Reply

      Man Kaalus, you are amazing. I am so glad you are on the wp7 side… This won’t change my outlook on you or the game but are you a fan of WP7? Or are you a fan of another OS but WP is very generous to developers so you code for WP? Just out of curiousity nothing major, either way I am so glad you are coding for us :) Thanks dude!!!

      I do have a couple things I want to ask/say.

      Is it possible to make a forum on this blog site of yours? I’ve started a thread on wpcentral.com forums and have had a few responses as well as there was another thread created about the upcoming release of this game with many responses. I just felt a new thread was needed to reflect the game being out right now and I’ve written like a 3 paragraph response to people being skeptical about buying this game… Hopefully that helped make up their minds and they purchased the game. Still I see many people already have been digging the game. Still I would love to have a forum on this site here or if you would rather, somewhere else. Let me know what you think.

      The other things is I cannot WAIT for this next update. I have never spent so much time in a game just doing whatever I wanted. Right now I’m clearing out the flooring to my “house” or “castle” and I’m gonna lay down a flooring of lamps then place a flooring of glass on top of it. Just to see how it looks but I think it would look fairly pretty! :) I’ll let everyone know how it turns out.

      • Posted November 23, 2011 at 11:13 | Permalink | Reply

        We definitely need a forum. Dan do you want to set one up? If not I am happy to do so. I was thining of http://www.survivalcraft.eu which is available. I can install phpBB and get it going prettty quickly.

        Kaalus what is your view on the forum?

  10. Daniel Jackson
    Posted November 22, 2011 at 21:44 | Permalink | Reply

    Oh lol and one more thing. I’ve been clearing out a beach for sand… I’ve found a ton of sandstone… Anyone know what can be crafted from sandstone?

    • Posted November 22, 2011 at 21:49 | Permalink | Reply

      nothing just yet, but as more recipes get added I am sure something will show up. Or you can build a nice pyramid ;)

  11. Posted November 22, 2011 at 22:05 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus,
    very nice news.
    If you want, I can try a german translation for the game.
    And, what’s the benefit of the Resolution Option in the options menu?
    On my 1st gen Device, I can’t see any difference, maybe its only useful, when played on a 2nd gen device?

    I’m waiting for the update and then I will definitely play SC, because its so dark in the night and I want some torches first, before I explore the world.

    • Basti
      Posted November 22, 2011 at 22:16 | Permalink | Reply

      You can craft lanterns, the will help you to lighten your home while it is dark outside or to dig some mines :)

    • Daniel Jackson
      Posted November 23, 2011 at 01:01 | Permalink | Reply

      Yea the lanterns do just fun, plus it adds to the realism that it’s pitch black out there.

      Oh and you cannot tell a difference in the normal/extended/full resolutions? I can tell a pretty good difference between normal and extended… then full has a huge difference, looks amazing.

  12. Posted November 22, 2011 at 22:06 | Permalink | Reply

    I look forward to the updates to this game and already consider it $1.99 well spent. I’m -very- cheap when it comes to buying software, so good job! I’ll write up a review on my gaming website after I see how the next update is. I’m glad to see that you also show recognition and respect to the original game.

  13. CRACKY NINJA
    Posted November 23, 2011 at 00:20 | Permalink | Reply

    Does anybody know how to find coal? Is it at a certain depth or do you keep endlessly searching

  14. MatthewK.
    Posted November 23, 2011 at 00:23 | Permalink | Reply

    I have 32 rooms and a skyblock……with 15 rooms….! Bring me mobs amd beds

  15. MatthewK.
    Posted November 23, 2011 at 00:45 | Permalink | Reply

    Ladders! We need ladders

    • Posted November 23, 2011 at 00:52 | Permalink | Reply

      Agreed. I cant build my castle towers without ladders…

      • Daniel Jackson
        Posted November 23, 2011 at 01:02 | Permalink | Reply

        What you can do is build a solid tower all the way up and then hollow out the middle to get down, take 1 block away at a time until you get to the bottom. If you want to leave the tower solid, just add a block above you when you take one down below. Hope that makes sense.

      • Posted November 23, 2011 at 01:10 | Permalink | Reply

        already working onthat in the reverse order. but a ladder makes things simpler. Thus, why I can’t do it.

      • jarrett
        Posted November 23, 2011 at 02:28 | Permalink | Reply

        Even though I think that suggestions should slow down a little bit since Kaalus is one guy I think we also need chests

      • Daniel Jackson
        Posted November 23, 2011 at 02:43 | Permalink | Reply

        Yes they would

  16. LUCKYSHOT52
    Posted November 23, 2011 at 02:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi kaalus not sure if you have an idevice *vomits* but if you do if you and you want good ideas for you’d sharing and possible creative mode/extra control settings you might want to look up Eden world builder

  17. LUCKYSHOT52
    Posted November 23, 2011 at 02:38 | Permalink | Reply

    ITEMS NEEDED: Tnt, ladders, diamonds/gold valued items, and maybe a creative mode similar to Eden world builder mentioned earlier

  18. Posted November 23, 2011 at 13:51 | Permalink | Reply

    Love the game so far, infact I have killed my battery playing today lol.

    Just want to add an idea that I am yet to see mentioned. Would it be possible to add an option to craft half size brick/planks for creating stairs etc. It would be much easier getting back out of the mines if you could run straight up without jumping, plus it would look a tad nicer :P

    Also the floating leaf thing is annoying but I noticed you said you will address that at some stage.

    Amazing game, cant wait for the update(s). Thanks for your hard work, it must be quite rewarding seeing all the positive feedback during an alpha release. The amount most games go for in the marketplace you should have no problem selling for 4.99 after a few updates!

    • Daniel Jackson
      Posted November 23, 2011 at 23:10 | Permalink | Reply

      Yea this game is worth much more, I’m certain the price will go up as stated. I cannot wait for the update either.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

