New tools

I added a bunch of new tools that will become available in the next update. By popular demand they are modelled on Minecraft. Initially I wanted to have something different, but I never figured out what exactly in enough detail to do it. And now I agree with a lot of you that we should have the same basic tools as in Minecraft. Here’s how they look:

Wooden tools:

Stone tools:

I also have a set of iron tools, but I still haven’t added iron generation to the world yet, so they cannot be made. My next task is probably to add iron. I may not have time to add a furnace in this update, but I may always add a temporary crafting recipe to allow making iron bars from iron ore.

37 Comments

  1. Posted November 20, 2011 at 01:18 | Permalink | Reply

    Please Kaalus, I beg of you to put a placeable spawn point in this update. Whether it is a bed, chair, rock, stone, X, piece of cake, wallet, walnut, I don’t care… we just need the ability to create a spawn point wherever we decide to make our base camp at…

    • Chris M
      Posted November 20, 2011 at 01:27 | Permalink | Reply

      Totally agree. I ended up building a castle where my spawn is by default but, it would be way better to have the option.

      • Posted November 20, 2011 at 02:12 | Permalink | Reply

        Totally agree as well. I need to think of something for this update. Another item on the list.

  2. Daniel Jackson
    Posted November 20, 2011 at 02:12 | Permalink | Reply

    Yea because I’ve died a couple times, the first time I couldn’t find the building I created and the second time, it took me forever to find my new building.

    • Posted November 20, 2011 at 02:38 | Permalink | Reply

      Yes, a manually settable respawn point is needed.

      But if you just have trouble finding your buildings, it is a good idea to build a beacon tower near them with a light on the top. Something that you will see from a distance. Navigation can also be done by sun/moon, they always move from east to west. The ocean shore where you start runs north to south, but if you go far enough you may find that it eventually curves due west.

      • Daniel Jackson
        Posted November 21, 2011 at 18:58 | Permalink | Reply

        Awesome, good to know. Thx very much for the info!

  3. TGZRyo
    Posted November 20, 2011 at 02:14 | Permalink | Reply

    Awesome tools. Will the generation of iron ore require use to make a new world?
    I would agree on being able to change spawn.
    How about a chest to store my items? I’ve been using crafting tables to store my items so far :)

    • Posted November 20, 2011 at 02:40 | Permalink | Reply

      I _think_ not. All the areas where you built or mined something will be iron-free, because they were already saved and generation process will not run on them any more. But all other areas should have iron. So you just have to search a little further.

      Chest is on the list, not sure if it will make the first update. Crafting table is a good workaround :-)

  4. Katze
    Posted November 20, 2011 at 02:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Could you please make a new thing in the settings like in minecraft, where you can set the view distance? Ive got a slow performance on my hd7 even on worst graphic settings :/

    Greetings from germany.

  5. LUCKYSHOT52
    Posted November 20, 2011 at 04:21 | Permalink | Reply

    When you finish making a lot of tools and mobs and your recipes are different then minecraft you need to make an app for it like cook n’ craft (this is a app on wp7 marketplace)

  6. survivalcrafter
    Posted November 20, 2011 at 04:50 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, after only having been released 3 days survivalcraft has already made the top downloaded games page in the US for windows phone, which means that it is viewable without searching on the windowsphone website (http://www.windowsphone.com/en-US/games?list=top). Of the top apps, only 5 are non xbox live titles including survivalcraft. Congrats on the accomplishment. One more thing I would like to add is that I have had the bug that was mentioned in someones comment a few days ago where if a cave or empty space is generated under water the water does not fill the space and it is possible to fall through the water and get hurt/need to respawn if the cave area is large enough upon impact with the ground under the water.

    • Posted November 20, 2011 at 11:53 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Survivalcrafter. I know about the water bug. This is caused by the fact that caves are generated after water. If a cave happens to be underwater then you get this ugly effect. You can make some of the water to flow by digging or placing one block next to the “hanging” water block.

      Unfortunately, it is not trivial to fix so I don’t know whether it will make the update. I think even Minecraft has these from time to time (although not as often as Survivalcraft).

  7. dom246
    Posted November 20, 2011 at 10:50 | Permalink | Reply

    Loving this game works great on my omnia 7 please keep updating I LOVE this game

  8. Rekhryt
    Posted November 20, 2011 at 10:57 | Permalink | Reply

    I can’t stop playing this wonderful game :) But Kaalus, one more thing, could you make trees dissappear after we cut away the wood? —-> And same Question like above with Iron: If you change this (trees), will the trees we worked on already also dissappear or just the new ones?

    • Posted November 20, 2011 at 11:49 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Rekhryt. The way I plan to do it should also affect the existing trees, no need to worry. But I haven’t done it yet, so something unexpected may always crop up.

      • Rekhryt
        Posted November 20, 2011 at 12:19 | Permalink | Reply

        Sounds great, thanks!

  9. ewqa
    Posted November 20, 2011 at 15:27 | Permalink | Reply

    It’s not available yet… When it will be in Marketplace?

    • Posted November 20, 2011 at 16:18 | Permalink | Reply

      What country are you in? It is available in Marketplace since Thursday.

      • ewqa
        Posted November 20, 2011 at 17:05 | Permalink | Reply

        Poland. I have no update to Survivalcraft since I bought it right after launch.

        • Posted November 20, 2011 at 17:06 | Permalink

          The update is not yet available. If everything goes according to the plan, it should be available before the next weekend.

  10. IM0001
    Posted November 20, 2011 at 16:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Curious about the new tools, will they also get a little bit of a 3D enhancement to the ones you see in your hands? ;) Right now it does look a tad funny holding 2D Shovel/Axes and when you swing, your hitting things with the broadside of the tool lol.

    • Posted November 20, 2011 at 16:51 | Permalink | Reply

      You mean do them like Minecraft, where tools held in hand are made of tiny cubes, one cube for each pixel? I could do that, but it would probably take me a day or two. So it’s rather out of the question for the first update. But in the meantime I changed the way you hold the tools, now their flatness isn’t so obvious.

      • IM0001
        Posted November 20, 2011 at 19:08 | Permalink | Reply

        While that would look good, all I am suggesting is rotating them so they are held facing you instead of the ground so to speak. And for simple 3d, just making a simple tool mesh and a handle that’s more 3d would give it some form for now. No need to get fancy yet.

      • IM0001
        Posted November 20, 2011 at 19:34 | Permalink | Reply

        Ah just reread and saw the bit about you changing how they are held. Perfect. :)

        No doubt a ton of work ahead of you but you have created the beginning of a beast of an app for WP7. Congratulations you are now in this for the long haul if you so choose. As WP7 grows, so will your app sales.

  11. Keeth
    Posted November 20, 2011 at 17:06 | Permalink | Reply

    my world reached 3 MB+ and now i can not open it up anymore, it gets stuck on the “preparing world” screen. anyone else have this occurance?

    • Posted November 20, 2011 at 17:44 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Keeth. How long have you waited on “preparing world” screen? If indeed you cannot get back to your world, this may be a serious bug. I would like to look into it, please don’t delete this world from your device if you can. Unfortunately there isn’t any way for me to get to your world before the update happens, so this will be some days.

      • keeth
        Posted November 22, 2011 at 14:11 | Permalink | Reply

        Nah I didnt delete it its still sitting there, hoping one day it would work again. I’ve waited about 30 minutes one time for it to open up while holding my finger on the screen so my phone wouldn’t lock. It was a sad day.

        • Posted November 22, 2011 at 18:16 | Permalink

          Hi Keeth. One more question: are you not running short on free space on your device? Without seeing the logs the only reason I could think of the save/load sytem malfunctioning is that your phone ran out of space when saving.

      • keeth
        Posted November 23, 2011 at 07:16 | Permalink | Reply

        Well, I was really low on storage space for a long time until a day or two before SC came out. Less than a Mb of storage, i had to remove a lot of apps. But after SC and right now I have 68mb free according to my phone and it still won’t open. I’ve since made a new map but have begun to notice a slight lag when im breaking blocks. Right before the block breaks it will lag, not even for a long time just for half a second. But it gets noticeable breaking a lot of blocks, idk what that is and I do t believe it was there before.

        • Posted November 23, 2011 at 10:22 | Permalink

          Hi Keeth. It only matters how much storage you had when you were playing Survivalcraft. The game needs to save data as you move around the world. If there is no space left the saving will fail and you may end up with an unusable world. I guess I need to address that, add some user warning and make it behave reasonably if it cannot save the data. Please wait for the update, I will review the loading code so that it is more resilient to corrupt files, maybe this will fix your world.

  12. Fire_Pieman
    Posted November 20, 2011 at 18:25 | Permalink | Reply

    I love Survivalcraft! Do you plan on adding stairs or auto-jumping in the next update?

    • Posted November 20, 2011 at 19:52 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Fire_Pieman. Stairs will have to wait a bit longer. Autojump is still hanging on the edge.

  13. Posted November 21, 2011 at 15:33 | Permalink | Reply

    right now I am actually glad the tools don’t wear out ;) have my stone axe working overtime building my caverns :)

    • MatthewK.
      Posted November 23, 2011 at 00:55 | Permalink | Reply

      Im doing as much as i can with the invincinle axe before they become wear down avalible if u knkw what i mean so far i have a castle that has 30 sometin rooms and 15 room skyblock

  14. SURF ROCK RICK
    Posted November 25, 2011 at 21:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Ok I cannot for the life of me figure out, is it even possible to make torches? Because when night falls the game becomes completely useless untill day comes again. if it is possible and im just dumb what is the recipe? and if it isnt put that on top of the list!! :)

    • Posted November 25, 2011 at 23:54 | Permalink | Reply

      Coal on top of a plank makes a lamp. But wait for the update, you’ll get proper torches.

  15. Posted July 21, 2015 at 23:15 | Permalink | Reply

    ugh…sorry, kaalus. you are now much better at spriting.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

