Anyone playing Survivalcraft on a 2nd gen Windows Phone?

At the moment I don’t have access to a 2nd generation Windows Phone. I am sure some of the people who are playing the game have a HTC Titan or Radar, or maybe even a Nokia Lumia, or any other new Windows Phone with Adreno 205 for that matter. I am curious whether it is possible to play in Extended or Full resolution on these phones (resolution can be changed in the settings).

If you have such a phone and tried higher resolutions, can you please share your experiences? I know there isn’t a framerate counter in Survivalcraft at the moment, but just saying whether it’s playable or not would be interesting. On 1st gen phones (which have Adreno 200), extended is unplayable and full is completely unplayable :-)

18 Comments

  1. survivalcrafter
    Posted November 19, 2011 at 22:44 | Permalink | Reply

    On the first Gen HTC trophy both Normal and extended can be played perfectly without lag but full has substantial lag.

    • Posted November 19, 2011 at 23:07 | Permalink | Reply

      I think extended is a bit too slow, but yes, I probably should have written “barely playable” instead of unplayable.

    • Jason
      Posted November 20, 2011 at 00:04 | Permalink | Reply

      I have to agree with survivalcrafter. I have a HTC Surround and I see very little difference in Normal and Extended. That is what I have it set to and it hasn’t bothered me. Though I am sure that the 2nd gen phones would probably make it look laggy in comparison.

    • Posted November 30, 2011 at 23:42 | Permalink | Reply

      Focus S has no lag in any mode! PS I’m also a developer for WP7 so if you would like a pre-release beta tester I’d be happy to help!

  2. Alex
    Posted November 19, 2011 at 23:40 | Permalink | Reply

    I have a TITAN and I switched it to full and not gone back, plays perfectly for me. Cant wait for the update

    • Posted November 20, 2011 at 00:03 | Permalink | Reply

      Cool, that’s what I wanted to know. I can add some more visual goodies in the future if new phones can handle it, for example denser looking trees. Adreno 200 struggles so much that almost everything had to be cut down to get to playable framerates.

      • Posted November 20, 2011 at 00:31 | Permalink | Reply

        Running this on a Samsung Focus. Extended works no problem at all. Full is a little slow, but no real problems. Just a little laggy, and not terribly so.

  3. Dwayne Scott
    Posted November 20, 2011 at 02:13 | Permalink | Reply

    HTC HD7, Extended runs fine but Full is pretty laggy. I always play it on extended now.

  4. Daniel Jackson
    Posted November 20, 2011 at 02:17 | Permalink | Reply

    Samsung focus, extended is almost as good as normal but full is pretty laggy. Full is definitely playable if you can compensate for the lag.

  5. ewqa
    Posted November 20, 2011 at 15:24 | Permalink | Reply

    Titan – works fine, no lags etc.

  6. Fire_Pieman
    Posted November 20, 2011 at 19:18 | Permalink | Reply

    For the Samsung Focus, extended works as good as normal and full is a little laggy but not bad.

  7. Posted November 20, 2011 at 21:42 | Permalink | Reply

    Looks and runs great on my Lumia 800 on Full.

  8. RyoTGZ
    Posted November 21, 2011 at 04:14 | Permalink | Reply

    http://wmpoweruser.com/nokia-lumia-800-and-samsung-omnia-performance-compared

    nice comparison

  9. Jon
    Posted November 21, 2011 at 10:16 | Permalink | Reply

    I can second Matts post, it is working great on the Lumia 800 in Full. Keep up the great work.

  10. Posted November 21, 2011 at 10:56 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi, i’m playing with the Titan, and it woks fine in full mode!
    Thanks for this game, it’s really a good job!

  11. Rider
    Posted November 21, 2011 at 21:34 | Permalink | Reply

    I’m running it on my (first gen) HD7. It’s completely fluent if I’m just moving within a small area, but as soon I move a tad more it’s starting to (slightly to medium) stutter (on normal :( ).. I think it’s the rendering/unrendering. Maybe the “resulotion” settings should contain a certain rendering distance as well. BUT ANYWAY, awesome job so far, the money was totally worth it! Thaaaank you alot for this game and keep it runnin’, can’t wait for the updates!

    Hope my feedback can help a little bit,
    Greetings from germany! :)

  12. Posted November 23, 2011 at 05:47 | Permalink | Reply

    I’m playing on the Fujitsu IS12T and it is working fine in Normal, Extended, and Full modes

  13. Posted November 29, 2011 at 18:06 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Kaalus,

    HTC Titan, latest firmware.
    Running V.1 Alpha

    Normal Mode: Runs real smooth, no issues what-so-ever
    Extended Mode: Noticeable improvement on rendering (sharper, less noticable jagged edges)
    Full Mode: A step above Extended Mode (as expected), however movement seems slower, sometimes framerate *does* drop when either turning fast or when the game renders more world (distance clipping).

    Personally, Full Mode is good on Titan (especially with the big screen) but to avoid the jerky framerates from appearing, I stick to normal/extended.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

