Thanks for all the feedback!

I want to say Big Thank You to all the people who played the game and commented or emailed me with their reaction. I am sorry but it is a bit too much for me to reply to every single one. I hope you don’t feel offended. But I am reading all of it, and I agree with most of it. As long ago as this morning I thought that the first update will have what I wanted to add to it, but now I see it will be mostly driven by your feedback  :-)

These are some of the shortcomings of the game as of the first release: A shortage of crafting recipes. The lighting is too dark at night and in buildings/caves. Controls need sensitivity settings. Disabled multiplayer button is confusing. Need more tools. Need crafting guide. Need auto jump. Need sneak. Water glitches. Trial period is waaay too short :-)

Next post will be about the controls.

41 Comments

  1. Posted November 17, 2011 at 23:44 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, one more thing I have thought of and really think it should be important is some kind of gravity for trees and blocks. Floating tree tops kind of scare me, ad I have probably a thousand clogging up my world. Otherwise, this is a great game so far, and well worth the 1.99 I paid for it. I am very happy to be part of this Alpha process, and I hope that we can all come together and make your game even better than it already is. (I hope so, because I am already addicted… 6 hours of playing and still going strong…)

    • Posted November 18, 2011 at 00:35 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi homecombat. Gravity like you describe it would be quite difficult to do. Imagine you undercut a huge mountain (or even a whole area) so that it rests on a single block only. And then you remove the block… Minecraft and all other clones I know about do not do it. Minecraft solves the problem of floating leaves in another way: if there is no wood block nearby, the leaves slowly die out. Good idea to add this to the list…

      Btw. some “dynamic” block behaviors like the one with dying leaves are in there already. For example, if you place a block on top of the grass, and then remove it, the grass will have died already underneath and turned into dirt.

      And yes, I know there is sudo gravity for sand and gravel in Minecraft that only works on single vertical shafts.

      • zxcvbad
        Posted November 18, 2011 at 15:22 | Permalink | Reply

        Agree, I’ve started a project to build a city deep in a mountains, so some part of mountains will become skyscrapers lol :) Dynamic blocks is way to complicated, there are a lot of things to do before such complicated features.

  2. Posted November 17, 2011 at 23:51 | Permalink | Reply

    Great job! Glad we can help, but it’s you doing all the hard work!

  3. Savage1969
    Posted November 17, 2011 at 23:58 | Permalink | Reply

    I vote “No” to auto-jump. This could cause you to fall to great depths if you use blocks as barriers to deep caverns as some of us do, plus it would be extremely odd anyway. It’s fine as is, if you want to jump simple tap one of the control areas.

    • Posted November 18, 2011 at 00:25 | Permalink | Reply

      If I add auto jump, you will be able to switch it on/off in the settings.

    • zxcvbad
      Posted November 18, 2011 at 15:26 | Permalink | Reply

      Disagree, if you got minecraft experience you know that its all about getting use to controls. Autojump saves a lot of time though

  4. Dwayne Scott
    Posted November 18, 2011 at 00:03 | Permalink | Reply

    So what is the multi-player button all about? Details? :D

    • Posted November 18, 2011 at 00:29 | Permalink | Reply

      No, there’s no multiplayer in this release. The button was left over from when I started doing the UI, I simply added all the buttons I thought will ever be there to the main menu to tweak the positioning. Then I never removed it. I may remove it in the update because it makes people think there is multiplayer already in the game.

      • Dwayne Scott
        Posted November 18, 2011 at 17:49 | Permalink | Reply

        Well I understand that there is no multi-player currently. But does that mean there is going to be in the future? Or was it just an idea? It’d be awesome if it had multi-player support. Thanks for the reply.

  5. survivalcrafter
    Posted November 18, 2011 at 00:16 | Permalink | Reply

    One more thing that the alpha is missing…metals to mine for. One of the best parts of minecraft is being able to mine for rarer metals in order to make rarer objects and armor (could creeps and armor be released at the same time?). Due to a lighting glitch I was able to mine straight down to the bottom of the 64? block grid during the day and not have lighting decreased. I noticed that there is some coal near the surface but no other metals or things found in the earth as of yet. Could we see some rare earth materials and metals (diamonds for ultrastrong tools and armor, iron ore for strong tools and armor and eventually rail tracks and cars, gold, redstone for simple levers and switches are the first things that come to mind from minecraft)? Also, when animals are introduced can you make fur be harvestable and have a recipe for a bed so that the night can be skipped like in minecraft? All in all a great game. I actually think it is better already than minecraft pocket edition because there is crafting unlike the pocket edition for android and iphone which is only creative mode. Well done!

    • survivalcrafter
      Posted November 18, 2011 at 00:23 | Permalink | Reply

      2 more things I forgot in the original post. It would be nice to have some sort of food either coming from killing an animal when you introduce them or from s recipe. Also, do you plan to introduce lava and water into cave systems and do something like the portals to the hell like world one can make with obsidian in minecraft?

      • survivalcrafter
        Posted November 18, 2011 at 00:27 | Permalink | Reply

        Also, when you get back to coding block entities such as the furnace you could also consider including a survivalcraft version of the wooden storage chest which will be useful when enough things are added to the game that they can’t fit in the inventory.

      • IM0001
        Posted November 18, 2011 at 00:46 | Permalink | Reply

        Easy boy, this is version .01 Alpha here. Give the man time to create the game lol. More than likely he has played Minecraft a good bit but he does also have his own vision of what he wants to do differently as well as similar. Give it time. ;)

      • survivalcrafter
        Posted November 18, 2011 at 00:55 | Permalink | Reply

        I understand that, I was only dreaming a bit. My main request for version 1.1 would probably be some metals to mine for though.

    • Posted November 18, 2011 at 10:41 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Survivalcrafter. Metals will be coming soon, but I need to add a furnace for them to be usable. If you create a vertical shaft down, the lighting there will be at full intensity, no matter what the depth. This is no glitch. Minecraft works the same way. Basically, entire sky is a light source which projects rays straight down to every block. So, unless you deviate your shaft from vertical or cover it up, the light in there will be at full intensity.

      In general, lighting model in block games is an approximation of real life lighting only. In 99% of cases it works well. But don’t expect 100% physically correct radiosity :-)

      Food and other items pertinent to a person’s wellbeing are on the list as well, this is Survivalcraft after all…

  6. IM0001
    Posted November 18, 2011 at 00:43 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey we may all be providing feedback, but one things for certain, if you have an idea or dream for your game, by all means work on that and make it the way you envisioned it. After it is in the game, and others have had a chance to experience it, critique it, and provide valuable feedback on it should you consider changing/removing a feature or idea. Listen to your followers, but don’t burry your own vision. It’s your world, we’re just playing in it. ;)

    • Antilliteracy
      Posted November 18, 2011 at 07:46 | Permalink | Reply

      Well said, and I totally agree!

  7. Jacob
    Posted November 18, 2011 at 00:49 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus,

    I absoultely love Survivalcraft, and since I don’t know how long it will be until the next update, I was wondering if it would be okay for me to make a wiki? You can get in contact with me and we can talk about it, if you want.

    And also, I highly recommend making the leaves die, it’s rather annoying destroying leave by leave.

    • Jacob
      Posted November 18, 2011 at 02:06 | Permalink | Reply

      Or better, a website dedicated to it.

      • Posted November 18, 2011 at 10:45 | Permalink | Reply

        I think it is a very good idea to eventually make a publicly editable wiki. I am not sure, but it may be a little too soon for that. I think the community isn’t there yet, the game has been on the market for just 24h :-). And there isn’t a huge amount you could put in the wiki yet. But if you want, please try. I hope there will be much more to put in the wiki after the first update.

  8. Posted November 18, 2011 at 09:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Loving this game, I already have a nice house on the beach with underwater glass fronted basement, secret exits, glass roof, covered garden, it’s amazing what you can make.

    Some feedback:
    – As you already know, way too dark at night – I suspect you tested on AMOLED screens which display blacks much better, LCDs are not so great. I have HTC Mozart – performance otherwise is good.
    – I have trouble with the touch sensitivity – takes several goes to select a tool from the bottom, when crafting tap and hold works but then can’t tap in other squares (takes many attempts/clicks)
    – When placing items in the world it takes several taps before an object is placed. Double tap works but then often places 2 items.

    These 3 points make the game pretty dificult to play for me, so looking forward to some updates.

    Keep up the good work!

  9. Alex
    Posted November 18, 2011 at 10:44 | Permalink | Reply

    Please can we have a suicide/respawn button, im currently stuck in a tunnel which is silly dark, I have a lantern but it doesnt work, I cant see anything been trying to get out for about a hour, I dont want to have to abandon my world.

    • Posted November 18, 2011 at 11:42 | Permalink | Reply

      Oh nightmare! If you play in a very dark room it might help to see something?

      I am also wondering if there is any way to backup the save game files, it would be bad to get a new phone and not bring them across.

      • Posted November 18, 2011 at 14:45 | Permalink | Reply

        Backing up save files will be accomplished using the same mechanism used for sharing them. Which is another thing that needs doing.

  10. Posted November 18, 2011 at 14:04 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi,

    I finaly found out why I am so bad with the splitting and the movement. I am not sure wether it is my device or survivalcraft, but did not notice this on other apps. Sometimes the device seems not to register taps and sometimes it registers multiple taps. When I split heaps I had to tap between 1 and 6 times to do the split. First I thought double tap on target field was split, but it was not consistent. When I move it sometimes does not react and sometimes does overreact. Anyone else with this problem or should I assume it is a hardware problem? I am using a HTC Mozart.

    • Posted November 18, 2011 at 14:42 | Permalink | Reply

      I have this problem, also on HTZ mozart, it is not your device.

    • Posted November 18, 2011 at 14:50 | Permalink | Reply

      It may be a problem with the game. Survivalcraft does not use built-in tap handling. The reason for that is that system taps only register when no other touch points exist. I need to support taps also when other touch points are there (for example when you move & want to jump by tapping look panel). I suspect it is because some people tend to use longer taps. I think tap threshold is currently set to 0.4 seconds (i.e. if you hold it for longer it will not register as a tap but as a hold). I will need to add sensitivity setting for that as well.

      • Posted November 18, 2011 at 15:23 | Permalink | Reply

        Yes that is my experience – if I do the lightest/quickest tapo possible it seems to be better. When I just do a normal tap it seems to register longer than 0.4 seconds maybe.

        Kaalus you must have a rather long list of things to add now! I am looking forward to updates to this excellent game, really great job.

        Cheers.

      • Antilliteracy
        Posted November 18, 2011 at 19:53 | Permalink | Reply

        I have this problem too, I was wondering if it was just me, but I’m just glad it has been acknowledged and is being worked on. Kaalus, it is great to see a dev talking back to his audience! Keep it up, you will have the best selling game on WP7 in no time! I am confident in that.

  11. Chris M
    Posted November 18, 2011 at 19:46 | Permalink | Reply

    For the love of god, please consider having “god mode”, that is to say eliminate the health bar so I can run around without worries of randomly losing health from falling. I don’t care about any other feature right now. It’s SOOOO frustrating to spend an hour mining only to fall and die, and lose all your inventory. I can’t seem to heal myself, so until that is available, it’s just a matter of time before death. Also, last time I died, I ran back to get my dropped items and they were still there, but as Iwas about to pick them up they disappeared before I could get to them. Small problem but a huge frustration.

    BTW, this is my first time playing a minecraft style game so maybe I’m just being a wussy.

    • Posted November 18, 2011 at 21:02 | Permalink | Reply

      At the very least it might be nice to have the ability to insert a “respawn point” in your base of operations… In terraria I know you can build beds, and you’ll respawn at your bed. My Castle is far away from the shore line, and my mine shaft is very deep. Sometimes I fall to the end of my mineshaft, and then I lose all of my stuff and sometimes have difficulties finding my castle again.

      • Rekhryt
        Posted November 19, 2011 at 00:21 | Permalink | Reply

        Already best game in the marketplace, respect for all this! ;)

        But i can only underline what “homecombat” said, we really really need BEDS / RESPAWN POINTS, please!!!

  12. Posted June 27, 2013 at 02:17 | Permalink | Reply

    hey please fix the lagging when the gun powder kegs blow up and please add multiplayer for us

  13. Posted March 26, 2014 at 00:42 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey could you guys add fishing poles and when you destroy a dirt block a worm pops out and you could use that as bait kind of a system like the bow and arrow. Drag the worm to the fishing pole to bait it. Also add more animals that you can retrieve bacon from when they are killed. Thanks.

  14. Posted September 10, 2015 at 03:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Animals
    Bats
    Snakes
    Monkey
    Leopard mice
    Dog
    Cats
    Alligator
    Crocodiles
    Vultures

  15. Posted September 10, 2015 at 03:06 | Permalink | Reply

    Villagers
    Indians
    Serial killers

  16. Posted September 10, 2015 at 03:07 | Permalink | Reply

    Cars
    Helicopter with amunition
    Ships

  17. Posted January 3, 2016 at 20:36 | Permalink | Reply

    What is that game I was building a ……. Cruise and suddenly it’s all water r u k ? R u crazy answer cmon man answer it’s not fair …….
    man I was building it it took me a month and everything is ruined …………………. man

  18. Victorio Cisneros
    Posted April 8, 2016 at 03:28 | Permalink | Reply

    Can you pls pls pls add shields

  19. Victorio Cisneros
    Posted April 8, 2016 at 03:29 | Permalink | Reply

    Shields

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

