Survivalcraft is in the marketplace!

Wohoo! It has arrived :-)

Thank you for all the comments and emails so far, they have been very useful! You can now download a trial or purchase Survivalcraft in Windows Phone Marketplace. And don’t forget to rate it.

Please remember that although it is playable, this is not a finished game yet, and the price reflects that at the moment. You can expect the first update coming out soon. It will bring both bug fixes (lighting system) and new features.

I am now setting up a place which will be better suited for bug reports and feature requests than comments on this blog. Stay tuned.

23 Comments

  1. Posted November 17, 2011 at 11:21 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Kaalus!

    Congrats on the release! My trial just expired and freshly bougth the game :D Some fresh first expression feedback from me.

    The Intro is realy cool. Will we able to craft ships one day?

    It realy looks very fine on the phone. Movement needs a bit to get used too. While you have imediately feedback with the camera, it is sometimes a bit difficult to predict on which block you move. I would suggest adding a moving inner circle to the move control like the virtual joystick on other (iphone) games.

    Block harvesting seems very slow to me. We are on the phone at least which means this will often played on the run. I just have to build my first tools to get the acceleration and try it again, so treat this with a grain of salt. Maybe a slow start and higher acceleration will be a good way, who knows.

    Trial time is much to short. Nobody not already hooked on Minecraft will get on the hook in that short amount of time. What do you loose if you let them play an hour and build an emotional connection to their world?

    Go on with the good work!

    Yours,
    Georg

  2. Posted November 17, 2011 at 11:44 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Georg. Thanks for the great feedback. That is why I wanted to release early :-) When you are making a game, you are playing it for hours and hours, and at some point you lose the ability to see a lot of things that a new user might find annoying.

  3. Posted November 17, 2011 at 11:46 | Permalink | Reply

    When will multi-player be unlocked and do you have anymore details on it, other than its on the menu? :D

    • Posted November 17, 2011 at 11:50 | Permalink | Reply

      Also I agree with the camera sensitivity George mentioned, I think you should be able to adjust the look speed so we can be more accurate with the block placing.

  4. Posted November 17, 2011 at 12:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi I think I will extend my observations as long I got them without the acclimatization as those are unrepeatable. So expect some short feedbacks over the next days while I am digging deeper (pun intendet)

    Now made some sticks and a shovel. Harvesting with the shovel haves a good feeling, so I think the slow harvesting without is an additional incentive to get the tools.

    Splitting items is not intuitive IMHO, I wouldn’t even got it without the blog. Even then I needed some tries to get it done. How about an alternative: Long tap on a heap of item will show ghost images of the splitted heap in nearby spots. Maybe even longer tap will continue the split to additional free spots. Lifting the finger will do the split. Tap on either a special button or outside the inventory to cancel the split. Use double tap to recombine.

    Moving accidently while positioning the finger is to easy. Just fell backwards over a cliff and died. Maybe a theshhold before moving the character will help? Not sure about that. Alternatively a threshold and an acceleration of movement just like a mouse accelerator.

    Yours,
    Georg

  5. Keeth
    Posted November 17, 2011 at 12:39 | Permalink | Reply

    the item splitting is perfect. i understood it as soon as i read the help cloud. i doubt you would but, please don’t change that hah.

  6. Chris
    Posted November 17, 2011 at 13:55 | Permalink | Reply

    Wow, this game is really great! Thank you for putting such an excellent game on the Windows Phone. I agree that the trial is much to short. The first time I played the trial I could barely cut down my first tree before the trial ended. On the item splitting, I agree with Keeth, the splitting is awesome after you get used to it. Perhaps there could be a little tutorial note when you first open your inventory to explain it. Overall, I love this so far and I look forward to buying the full version shortly.

  7. Posted November 17, 2011 at 14:20 | Permalink | Reply

    Just brought and reviewed your game! Didn’t have much time playing tho, right now I got to say i’m impress how smooth the framerate is on my Quantum, good job on that!
    I have to agree with Greg, the mining of block (especially stone) is too slow, since I think most people (like me) will only probably play this in short session (20 min or less at a time) and I have to also agree about the need of a joystick of some sort, because I don’t know why maybe I didn’t play enough but sometime even tho I keep Holding the walk button, the character will stop moving… maybe i just need time to get used to it tho… Anyway keep up the update man I love it already!

    • Posted November 17, 2011 at 14:21 | Permalink | Reply

      Georg* , sorry for misspelling your name !

      • Posted November 17, 2011 at 14:57 | Permalink | Reply

        Also, i’m all for a slider to adjust the viewing sensibility!

      • Alex
        Posted November 17, 2011 at 15:52 | Permalink | Reply

        One last thing, is it normal that sometime water block don’t expand to nearby block even tho they should? Is there anyway to take a screenshot so a can show you?

  8. Posted November 17, 2011 at 14:25 | Permalink | Reply

    Can you make a crafting guide? Everything isnt the same as minecraft. I got the shovel, but I need an axe and pick. Thanks!

    • Keeth
      Posted November 17, 2011 at 15:03 | Permalink | Reply

      a crafting guide would be great. to make a stone axe, though, you need 1 cobblestone on top of 2 sticks in the work bench (shovel). so far i dont think you can make a wooden axe/stone shovel/etc. im not even sure if you can make a pick axe, yet.

    • Savage1969
      Posted November 17, 2011 at 18:01 | Permalink | Reply

      Please…PLEASE…use Minecraft recipes in the update. I’m 99% certain I speak for all of us…those are the recipes that we all know, love, and want.

  9. Posted November 17, 2011 at 15:14 | Permalink | Reply

    Well, I tried to buy the app with the Zune support together here in Germnay, but it didn’t work. We get some some random errors.
    However, the demo works, but I really would like to buy the game.

    • Posted November 17, 2011 at 15:40 | Permalink | Reply

      I bought in Germany. Searched for it in Zune on my desktop, installed the trial and bought it via ingame Button. No problem.

      • Posted November 17, 2011 at 15:48 | Permalink | Reply

        That’s kinda strange. I mean, I even talked to the Zune support, and he meant, it doesn’t work for him.
        He even wanted to escalate the problem.
        I guess, I’ll try to buy it some time in the night. Maybe it’s just a server problem right now.

  10. Alex
    Posted November 17, 2011 at 16:28 | Permalink | Reply

    Bought game, enjoying it,, any tips on what I can craft so far?
    I have a stone axe, cant seem to make anything else

  11. CAVX
    Posted November 17, 2011 at 18:03 | Permalink | Reply

    As far as item splitting goes, the current system works. But remember we have multitouch. I’d suggest picking up and holding an item with one finger, than taking another finger and “pulling” one item out of the stack. If that makes sense. That’s the way that I naturally tried to split items before I clicked Help. Current method is fine, too, but sometimes it’s not very responsive.

  12. Posted November 17, 2011 at 18:12 | Permalink | Reply

    how do you make an axe and where do you get the sticks from? I can only get tree parts and make planks from them

  13. Posted November 18, 2011 at 10:48 | Permalink | Reply

    Excellent work, sir. I’m very impressed at how polished this title looks, performs, and feels when playing. It’s easily the best iteration of a first-person game on wp7 yet. You’re putting the LIVE titles and MS to shame with this, you know. ;)

    Movement is great in my opinion. A quick second to get used to it, but for portable gaming it’s pretty damn good.

    A crafting guide would be great, I’ve only really figured out the shovels and the lamp blocks, so I’d love to know what else I can make and how.

    Currently I have no big qualms. A ‘sneak’ function a la Minecraft would be great for building more detailed stuff, as movement with a phone game can be erratic, regardless of how smooth the controls are.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

