UI art pass

I spent inordinate amounts of time yesterday trying to make UI art which would be passable, as opposed to placeholder. I think I finally succeeded and found an art style that I want to use (and can manage to produce in high enough quality by myself). It looks a bit like Minecraft, with textured 3D buttons and panels.

While working on the UI I discovered that I can trivially add styles to my GUI library (which if you remember is a homebrew WPF clone working on Windows Phone 7). By adding literally 10 lines of code I can now specify and override styles for all controls. This is quite powerful. I immediately put it to use on the new buttons.

I am pondering a name change for Survivalcraft. There already exists a Minecraft plugin called SurvivalCraft, and some folks are setting up servers playing “SurvivalCraft” games. Don’t want to cause confusion by stealing someone elses names.

A few days ago I had a game design idea that I think I will stick to. In Minecraft you are dumped in the middle of a random, half fantasy, half real landscape, with no story behind it and no goals to achieve.

In Survivalcraft (or however I rename it – I have a few ideas; feel free to suggest your own), you will be a castaway dumped on an uninhabited shore. I actually plan to model a blocky 3D ship model that will be used in the intro. Not sure yet whether it will sink or just sail away.

Your goal will be to return to civilization. There will be ocean on one side and random landscape on the other. This should be quite interesting and different from Minecraft. Basically, the world will still be infinite, but only to one side. I plan to change terrain generation code to produce more and more challenging terrain as you move further inland.

5 Comments

  1. Posted July 24, 2013 at 05:20 | Permalink | Reply

    Hay its my first time being first

  2. MR.charada
    Posted December 31, 2013 at 23:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Awesome kaalus! You’re the best!

  3. Posted January 1, 2014 at 07:51 | Permalink | Reply

    Wow cools kaalus :D can’t wait your super!

  4. MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
    Posted January 5, 2016 at 00:24 | Permalink | Reply

    So what does this mean now?

  5. Posted January 5, 2016 at 08:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Interesting so will civilization ever be implemented if that is truly the goal, if it is now anyways?
    It would be awesome if a massive random generated mega city existed in the world.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

