Redo WPF in XNA?

Progress on Survivalcraft is good. After a bit of thought and some forays into hardcoded GUI territory, I decided I will spend some time making a new UI framework, with automatic layout system based on WPF. Now this may sound strange, as Windows Phone 7 already has Silverlight (which has slimmed-down WPF) that I could use. But Xbox doesn’t do Silverlight, so porting the game to Xbox would be difficult if I did. So I decided to make my own. It turned out that “some time” stretched into several days, but I am fairly satisfied with how it turned out. The actual UI I made with the framework is quite basic though. Don’t have time for fancy stuff. Apart from the UI I was also busy doing world serialization. This is going really well and I hope to have it finished within a day or so. The entity system I am using makes everything very easy, always a nice change. So what’s left before 1st release? At least this: finish serialization, fix water behaviour, add trial mode, placing of blocks on WP7, inventory (this is the big one – I hope to use the same UI system), cert testing.

2 Comments

  1. ovatsus
    Posted May 12, 2012 at 20:35 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi. I’ve been toying with the idea of a WPF-like framework on top of XNA/MonoGame. I found this project – http://red-badger.com/Blog/?tag=/XPF – but which seems dead, and I found your blog post. Could you elaborate a little more on your UI framework?

  2. MTB adventures/RCs to the limit
    Posted April 7, 2015 at 14:01 | Permalink | Reply

    2nd!

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

