Intel

Intel is pushing hard to get a toehold in the mobile market. At the moment pretty much all devices, be it tablets or phones, use ARM chips.

Intel has been late to the show, but the situation is changing. Last year they released Clover Trail platform, which ended up having some limited success. The performance was good, battery life rather mediocre.

This year they are releasing Bay Trail, which is a successor to Clover Trail. Apparently, performance is out of this world.

Besides moving on the hardware front, Intel is also pushing software devs to make sure apps are ready for Intel chips, once they arrive en masse.

A proof of that is what I found in the last week’s post:

Lenovo K900

 

Intel sent me a brand new shiny Lenovo K900 phone :-)

So, I’ll be making a (hopefully small but you never know) effort to make Survivalcraft compatible with x86.

Unfortunately K900 is not a Bay Trail phone, it’s the last year’s Clover Trail. As such it’s not very exciting. The performance is definitely there, but to be honest the Android UI overlay that Lenovo put in it is beyond horrible. Looks like it was designed by a hyperactive 8 year old. A real shame, because the 5.5″ 1080p IPS screen is gorgeous – the best I’ve seen yet.

Anyway, who cares, I don’t have to use it as a phone (shudder), just run the game on it.

And if you didn’t fancy the last video with new electrics, remember that first you haven’t seen all of it yet and second, electrics is actually the smallest part of the next update :-)

92 Comments

  1. Posted September 29, 2013 at 17:56 | Permalink | Reply

    first and follow me on my twitter: twitter.com/ondrejkuhejda

    • Posted September 29, 2013 at 17:57 | Permalink | Reply

      please ;)

    • Posted October 2, 2013 at 16:17 | Permalink | Reply

      add backpacks made of leather so when you craft one you can carry more things

      • Posted October 2, 2013 at 18:14 | Permalink | Reply

        please add i need something to use leather for apart from saddles and rope please

  2. Posted September 29, 2013 at 17:59 | Permalink | Reply

    and cg kaalus :D

  3. Marlon Neveu
    Posted September 29, 2013 at 18:00 | Permalink | Reply

    DOES THIS MEAN PC VERSION THIS UPDSTE AND NEXT UPDATE MULTIPLAYER????!!!

    >

  4. Posted September 29, 2013 at 18:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Hello!

  5. Marlon Neveu
    Posted September 29, 2013 at 18:06 | Permalink | Reply

    PC VERSION IS ALREADY OUT????? HOW DO I GET IT??

    >

  6. Posted September 29, 2013 at 18:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Maybe you changed the mechanics of the lever? It must be a switch and not the power source.

    • sancroff
      Posted September 29, 2013 at 22:16 | Permalink | Reply

      If I understand you correctly, that would mean bringing back the battery. No. If you want to limit the switch, use an AND gate to combine the switch’s output with some other logic.

  7. Posted September 29, 2013 at 19:04 | Permalink | Reply

    Please don’t spam people. Nobody really cares if your first or second. By the way, does this mean armour?!?! Because we already have the four boxes beside the eat box. You can’t put a thing in them though.
    Thanks,
    Tincan141

    • dragonmaster7000
      Posted September 29, 2013 at 19:26 | Permalink | Reply

      Uh spamming has never hurt anyone you jackel. :-|

      • dragonmaster7000
        Posted September 29, 2013 at 19:29 | Permalink | Reply

        And I’m not for sure about armor I really want a purpose for all 1275 diamonds I have from mining. Hmm

        • Posted September 29, 2013 at 19:36 | Permalink

          solid diomand block its made of 9 diomonds

  8. Posted September 29, 2013 at 19:43 | Permalink | Reply

    8th! Add cat and dog please

  9. Posted September 29, 2013 at 20:06 | Permalink | Reply

    Add a rope that you can put on a horse so you can walk it around. CAN’T WAIT!! :D

  10. Posted September 29, 2013 at 20:52 | Permalink | Reply

    Electrictrics is the smallest part!!! (Gasp!) Oh wait,community content…. (Duh!) :-)

  11. kate104
    Posted September 29, 2013 at 21:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Waiting for next update……. anyways…. what’s the new breed of horse?

    • Posted September 30, 2013 at 23:21 | Permalink | Reply

      I believe it is a donkey if memory serves also they added a stubborn animal feature

    • Posted October 2, 2013 at 20:52 | Permalink | Reply

      Duh everyone knows that but he mentioned a new breed of horse… -.- and a donkey most a type of horse it’s it’s own breed.

  12. Posted September 29, 2013 at 21:44 | Permalink | Reply

    Still need the chariots

  13. Posted September 29, 2013 at 22:12 | Permalink | Reply

    Anyone complaining about time spent on electronics is crazy. Making mad inventions and torching furry animals with them is what survivalcraft is all about. U survive and the wildlife doesn’t. Better electronics = better machines = more fun flatening babie’s. Duh.

    Can u put in a blow torch plz?

  14. Posted September 29, 2013 at 22:13 | Permalink | Reply

    Am I the only Warrior fan that instantly though of Clovertail from Firestar’s quest? O3O

  15. Posted September 29, 2013 at 23:32 | Permalink | Reply

    oh man kaalus, you couldnt be any more correct when you say that the android is so childish

    • Posted September 30, 2013 at 19:36 | Permalink | Reply

      Hey cmon android is amazing, besides i dont think he means what you think.

      • Posted September 30, 2013 at 19:38 | Permalink | Reply

        Maybe that just that UI is?, i prefer it over any other with most of them.

    • Posted October 1, 2013 at 02:36 | Permalink | Reply

      And by android do you mean me? Cuz if your talkin bout me I don’t care. I’m a young adult that acts like a five year old cuz I’m just awesome like that. The world iz to boring…but not for me! :D me no wanna eveh grow up! I like my spontainious self just enough. Oh…and nutella…I don’t show my random awesomness to anyone cuz I don’t want to intimidate them. Btw…I’m in Pre AP English so I end up using big words often :p

    • Posted October 2, 2013 at 03:44 | Permalink | Reply

      Compared to IOS 6 and 7 as well as Windows 8 mobile OS Android is a blessing.

  16. Posted September 29, 2013 at 23:39 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi

  17. Posted September 29, 2013 at 23:39 | Permalink | Reply

    I lost my old account

  18. Posted September 29, 2013 at 23:52 | Permalink | Reply

    more animals

  19. Posted September 30, 2013 at 00:06 | Permalink | Reply

    X86 would mean that in the future there could be a PC installation of survival craft? But you’d have to make it a direct port of the mobile version so it’d be fair to the mobile users

    • Posted October 1, 2013 at 06:30 | Permalink | Reply

      Not necessarily. Just because it’s Intel, even x86, doesn’t mean the chips have the same, or similar instruction sets. Mobile hipsets usually have reduced instruction sets to keep the power use down.

  20. Posted September 30, 2013 at 03:09 | Permalink | Reply

    Larger biomes.

  21. Posted September 30, 2013 at 04:20 | Permalink | Reply

    well someone hacked my computer…..NOT FUNNY!

  22. Posted September 30, 2013 at 07:02 | Permalink | Reply

    JUNGLE BIOMES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  23. Posted September 30, 2013 at 12:31 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Kaalus – although I’ve nothing to say on the subject of the Intel powered phone, I do want to say that I’m looking forward to your electricity changes. I watched the last video and can’t say I understood all the implications of what you described, but suspect that this level of control will allow for ‘smarter’ systems to be built in games. I can’t wait until the really clever players get their hands on the analogue system because will be the first to build some amazing things :)

    • Posted September 30, 2013 at 17:16 | Permalink | Reply

      I agree.:) complex machines are endgame when you have a bazillian chests of everything.

    • Posted September 30, 2013 at 22:25 | Permalink | Reply

      How is the system hard its really simple

      • Posted September 30, 2013 at 22:28 | Permalink | Reply

        I’m not sure if that’s a question or not. If it is then I didn’t say the system was hard, just that I didn’t understand all the implications of its implementation.

  24. Posted September 30, 2013 at 17:27 | Permalink | Reply

    In the future id like to see an automated way to gather stone. I don’t like using creative and find myself mining stone for large structures and it takes forever. Creative, for me, takes away most of the challenges but having to mine 60+ chests of stone is mundane. Kaalus think on it plz. Ether some swart giant drill machine, or an automated robot who would collect and store, or even some swart of stone generating furnace.

    • Posted October 1, 2013 at 06:31 | Permalink | Reply

      What PC operating system do you use? I have been thinking of making a “map editor” but I only develop for the PC currently. If there is enough interest I’ll look into cross-platform.

      • Posted October 2, 2013 at 20:22 | Permalink | Reply

        Right now I’m Ipad only. I think I could use creative to fill all my chests to the brim with stone, but if I started doing that, it really isn’t any different then using a cheat code. I’d get bored fast–and actually I’m surprised SC has held my attention this long. I’d much rather see automated mining equipment for stone production–even if the equipment is insanely expensive to make. I’d be a way in game to allow the survivalists to create massive structures without having to mine stone for 20+ hours–after all, this isn’t minecraft. It’s better then that.:)

        • Posted October 6, 2013 at 18:25 | Permalink

          Ok, now that I understand what you are saying I can tell you, my app won’t help you at all. Challenging mode is supposed to be just that: a challenge. For Kaalus to add some sort of high-output mining machine would be up to him but the the stuff you are talking about is supposed to be hard to do.

  25. Posted September 30, 2013 at 19:33 | Permalink | Reply

    Good for you Kaalus :D

    But you do like android right?

  26. Posted September 30, 2013 at 21:42 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi guys im back

  27. Posted September 30, 2013 at 22:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Nobody told me diamond blocks where flammable. I had a tower with a diamond block on top. It got hit by lightning and burned.

  28. Posted October 1, 2013 at 00:57 | Permalink | Reply

    Please go to my blog!!!
    (Just click on my nametag!)

  29. Posted October 1, 2013 at 01:21 | Permalink | Reply

    My little brother deleted my old account

  30. Posted October 1, 2013 at 02:09 | Permalink | Reply

    Again plz go to my blog!!! I just made it today!!!

  31. Posted October 1, 2013 at 03:06 | Permalink | Reply

    Speaking on the subject of arm and x86 have you tested to see if survival craft could work on a raspberry pi? It is an arm based mini computer that cost 35 dollars, if you haven’t heard of it. They have minecraft pi edition which isn’t as full featured as PE, it’s just a thought seeing its always fun to test these things out.

  32. Posted October 1, 2013 at 03:28 | Permalink | Reply

    Horses are worthless in their current incarnation.

    Until you stop dying every time you touch a tree, horses are worthless.
    I have never travelled farther than a few blocks without getting killed by a tree. I don’t know why you added such awesome terrain generation and then added a game mechanic that kills you based on the terrain generation.

    I would call this a bug. It should knock you off the horse if you hit a tree, not kill you. This is not fun to play.

    • Posted October 1, 2013 at 12:33 | Permalink | Reply

      I agree. Although I’ve always loved having horses in various games (Second Life, LOTRO, etc.) I don’t use them in SC because there simple is no incentive to do so.

      • Posted October 1, 2013 at 13:29 | Permalink | Reply

        This has happened to me at first with horses.. Then i stopped dying riding them. First off, learn to ride the horse properly, build a fenced in ranch, take him for a test drive, learn his levels of speed, then learn how to turn. Since SC is infinite, it will help you travel great distances very fast, therefore very use full.

        • Posted October 1, 2013 at 16:08 | Permalink

          Cheers – I did build an area for just this, but in the end I could everywhere on foot easier. Mind you, that was before the stamina mechanic – maybe that will change things and make horses worthwhile, if still dangerous.

    • Posted October 1, 2013 at 13:09 | Permalink | Reply

      This is in no way a bug.

      Besides i have Never had a problem with the horse, maybe your just not good with steering? But i find them to be useful ways to get around and think they are exellent now.

    • Posted October 2, 2013 at 20:05 | Permalink | Reply

      I agree, I can see a collision knocking you off the horse with the loss of a heart perhaps, but as it is right now, it’s suicide riding around trees or hills. Sometimes if you try and mount near a wall or on a hill (with nothing above you) it will occasionally kill you right out. Mounting in the wild is dangerous unless you are a few blocks away from elevated terrain. Love the horses, but I can’t stand this aspect.

  33. Posted October 1, 2013 at 17:08 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, you do realize x86 is 32 bit which all phones run off of right? My iPhone 4 is 32 bit. Speaking of iPhones, does the game run good on the 5s? I get my upgrade today and I am just wondering.

    • sancroff
      Posted October 1, 2013 at 20:34 | Permalink | Reply

      x86 is an instruction set, not a word size.

  34. Posted October 1, 2013 at 17:33 | Permalink | Reply

    Sorry, but I can’t regard instantly dying because I touched a leaf as normal, acceptable behavior. And if I’m going to use a horse to travel vast distances only to touch a leaf and die… then respawn in the middle of nowhere ( or worse, all the way back home) that’s no incentive to go explore. Exploring is hard enough as it is – if you want to survive you have to pack so many things that you have no space to carry anything back with you. At least, if the horse could carry some stuff then there would be a point. But, as it stands, they are worthless.

    And dying from touching a leaf? That should be considered a bug in any game.

    • Posted October 1, 2013 at 18:14 | Permalink | Reply

      Your not just touching a leaf…touching a leaf while on a horse inflicts no damage..you have to up to speed to be killed. Therefore you just riding way to fast and have no control over your horse.

      • Posted October 2, 2013 at 19:53 | Permalink | Reply

        Nope. If I even mount a horse next to a tree I’ll die. No speed. No movement. Just dead me. Any amount of speed near any type of tree means dead player. I would rather just stay away from horses altogether.

        • taybloom567
          Posted October 3, 2013 at 12:50 | Permalink

          If your mounting your horse under the tree you will die because your being squished by the tree.

        • Posted October 6, 2013 at 18:27 | Permalink

          Exactly, and that’s worthless to me. To make horses that can’t be near trees is no help to me. Especially when there are so many trees.

  35. Posted October 1, 2013 at 21:10 | Permalink | Reply

    Please go to my blog!!!

  36. Posted October 2, 2013 at 16:58 | Permalink | Reply

    I’m ready for this thing to come out

  37. Posted October 2, 2013 at 22:19 | Permalink | Reply

    Can u add saddle bags and iron boats that go 50% faster?

  38. Posted October 2, 2013 at 22:26 | Permalink | Reply

    I found a game called block story. No offense but its horrible. Its terrain generation is like a cartoon and its pretty boring. There are other people, but they just stand in the middle of no where. It has infinite worlds up and down. So when you fly all the way up there is just endless magical floating islands. The in game music is just awkward while you’re playing because who wants to hear people singing softly while you play in some weird magical blocky world. Lol! :)

    • Posted October 3, 2013 at 11:54 | Permalink | Reply

      Hey calm down I happen to like block story. I think its original. Its a RPG and it has to do with magic. Don’t be such a hater

  39. dragonmaster7000
    Posted October 3, 2013 at 00:18 | Permalink | Reply

    Hello hmm still wheres cake. My my my my tr tr tr true uhhhhhhhh. I’m suspensing that one out. You never saw that.

  40. dangercrafter
    Posted October 3, 2013 at 19:49 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus pls add:
    Leads, Pigs, cows, dogs, breeding, choco beans, armor, bones, enchant table, teleports, magical creatures(witches, withers, dragons.). And multiplayer!

    Yes, some of my ideas are from minecraft but no NEGATIVE comments pls.

  41. Posted October 3, 2013 at 19:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Yes please release 1.23 now.

  42. Posted October 3, 2013 at 19:57 | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve been waiting hand and foot for a solid 2 months now:( then you can finish up with 1.24. I believe most if us would rather have small frequent updates rather than big less frequent ones.

  43. Posted October 3, 2013 at 19:59 | Permalink | Reply

    While waiting for 1.23 update I did come across block story (seems interesting) and block fortress…sorry to promote these other games but waiting for 1.23 is killing me:(

  44. Posted October 3, 2013 at 21:10 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi guys

  45. Posted October 4, 2013 at 00:49 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus or anyone else? What’s the maximum limit that a wire can transmit a signal/power for a switch to a device? Also, will this distance increase in the next release? Thanks.

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41,821 other followers