Disappearing Coal Blocks

As most of you know, coal blocks are supposed to burn forever. And so they do, unless the burning material happens to sit at a chunk boundary… The fire algorithm can in rare circumstances extinguish such a fire, taking the burning block away with it.

Big thanks to Spooner for sending me a reproducible test case.

I have investigated the issue and I have to sadly report that I currently see no easy way of fixing it! The proper way is to introduce another block type for forever burning fire, but this solution is totally out of proportion with the problem we I am trying to solve. There is a trivial workaround to avoid your fire blocks disappearing: move them away from chunk boundary (chunks are 16×16 blocks large).
Fireblock

This coal block sits at the (invisible) chunk boundary, and so may disappear if you move away

The fix will be trivial once we migrate to 32 bit blocks. I will just reserve one bit to say that the fire should never get extinguished. As it stands now, all bits are used for fire data, so there’s no space to save that information.

I will give it some more thought. There are hacky solutions, but they are nasty and there is a risk of introducing more issues. Maybe I’ll find something better. For now, just move your fireplaces and balloons!

117 Comments

  1. Posted September 15, 2013 at 20:47 | Permalink | Reply

    One of my fireplaces had this happen. Thank you for explaining why it occurs.

    • Posted September 17, 2013 at 15:13 | Permalink | Reply

      WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL! WE NEED TO SPAWN ORCA AND WHITE BULL!

  2. Posted September 15, 2013 at 20:51 | Permalink | Reply

    My fire place never burns out and 2nd

  3. Posted September 15, 2013 at 21:21 | Permalink | Reply

    im glad i could help :) time to move my baloon. good thing that it is not finished yet :)

    • Posted September 16, 2013 at 12:07 | Permalink | Reply

      I don’t feel good about leaving this bug in, but to fix it now would be even worse. 32 bit blocks for the win!

    • Posted September 16, 2013 at 15:25 | Permalink | Reply

      Stop hacking or using that time machine to bump down people

  4. Posted September 15, 2013 at 22:42 | Permalink | Reply

    Hello everyone! :) visit my blog by clicking my name, there I will announce you about all the activities I am doing and maps that I’ll be uploading to community content :D

  5. Posted September 15, 2013 at 22:43 | Permalink | Reply

    I had experienced this too. OH IM 3RD!!!!

    • Posted September 15, 2013 at 22:44 | Permalink | Reply

      Whoops crafterking was typing along me he posted first so im 4.Sorry i wont do it again unless im first.

    • Posted September 15, 2013 at 22:45 | Permalink | Reply

      Silencer775, if you’re reading this… make more videos cuz they’ve awesome :P

      • Posted September 15, 2013 at 22:45 | Permalink | Reply

        Oops I didn’t want to reply here lol

        • Posted September 15, 2013 at 22:47 | Permalink

          Its ok.Thanks for commenting on py posts your the second that commented on them

    • Posted September 15, 2013 at 22:46 | Permalink | Reply

      Post your ideas here!

      • Posted September 15, 2013 at 22:51 | Permalink | Reply

        Hey, who’s the little boy in the profile picture? :P

        • Posted September 15, 2013 at 22:53 | Permalink

          I was very little when i took this photo.My father created my facebook for me and i dont know how to change picture here. I logged in with facebook.

        • Posted September 16, 2013 at 02:52 | Permalink

          Wassup

      • Posted September 15, 2013 at 22:52 | Permalink | Reply

        Bullet-used to shot using a gun.To craft,place a sigle iron ingot on the crafting table.You get 10 bullets.Theyr a small ball the same color as iron.

  6. Posted September 15, 2013 at 22:57 | Permalink | Reply

    Gun-Uses 1 bullet and 1 gunpowder every shot.Takes 5 seconds to reload.Does 15 damage(Diamond Machete deals 10) and lasts 50 uses.Crafting:
    Iron ingot,Iron Ingot,Iron ingot
    Plank,plank,plank
    Plank

  7. Posted September 15, 2013 at 23:37 | Permalink | Reply

    Two posts in one day?! WHAT MADNESS IS THIS?!

    • Posted September 16, 2013 at 12:08 | Permalink | Reply

      I work in bursts. It’s all psychology, that is.

      • Posted September 16, 2013 at 13:00 | Permalink | Reply

        You work in bursts? My dad works at set times. He is a programmer that knows c++ but he got promoted to a manager and is managing two important teams

        • Posted September 16, 2013 at 13:04 | Permalink

          Well kaalus, if working in bursts helps this game come along then keep going buddy! This game is awesome kaalus.

        • Posted September 16, 2013 at 21:33 | Permalink

          Kaslus I mean no offense to the way you work.

      • Posted September 17, 2013 at 02:17 | Permalink | Reply

        Kaalus, could you also say when you post, it would help my impatience. Also, click my name to see my new blog

        • Posted September 17, 2013 at 02:57 | Permalink

          I’ll look at yours if you look at mine

  8. Posted September 15, 2013 at 23:44 | Permalink | Reply

    Look how far you can see…

  9. Marlon Neveu
    Posted September 16, 2013 at 00:56 | Permalink | Reply

    Balloons?

  10. Posted September 16, 2013 at 01:27 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, please, oh please add brown paint!!

  11. blindasascourge
    Posted September 16, 2013 at 01:53 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, I appreciate you working to iron out major issues and the bugs rather than slamming new things in (ie. Multiplayer) and generating new gateways for more bugs. But for those who want multiplayer, read this would you?

    What /are/ the benefits?

    It would take Kaalus much data space and time to create the servers, implement the data, and at the end, he might even cause the game to be plugged up by the coding for multiplayer just for your “simple” requests. Don’t spam him with adding multiplayer, minecarts, (minecraft things), etc. Respect that he is working hard with his free time in his own life, not yours. We all have lives, and I am sure you would not like to be barked orders at. Kaalus tries to make SC a great game by ironing out the bugs and issues so you can build your best. You are lucky to even have your Community Content.

    • Posted September 16, 2013 at 01:55 | Permalink | Reply

      Agreed! :)

      • Posted September 16, 2013 at 01:59 | Permalink | Reply

        Who’s with us? No more rudely ordering things. Kaalus is doing a good job. If there is such a problem with him taking his time, then play minecraft pe its a nice game. Thx for these features kaalus. :D

        • Posted September 16, 2013 at 03:40 | Permalink

          Were I live it is a free country so I won’t stop anyone. But it is rather annoying sometimes so please remember this. Also kaalus doesn’t want to add multi at the moment because he wants to make and fix things first

      • blindasascourge
        Posted September 16, 2013 at 01:59 | Permalink | Reply

        I am surprised anyone even read it. Thank you!

    • Posted September 16, 2013 at 02:48 | Permalink | Reply

      Ugh, so long. Im too lazy to read all… JK xD. I agree and I have always thought of this but it’s not even worth saying since some people just don’t care or just simply ignore Kaalus’ s hard work.

      • Posted September 16, 2013 at 03:10 | Permalink | Reply

        Click on my name to see my blog.

        • Posted September 16, 2013 at 03:14 | Permalink

          Less people have been comenting because they all got locked out of wordpress like I did. I think its because wordpress got updated??? I hope people start commenting again.

        • Posted September 17, 2013 at 02:55 | Permalink

          i didn’t…….is you a robot too? ._.

  12. Posted September 16, 2013 at 03:17 | Permalink | Reply

    epicusername12345, your house is finished and I uploaded the world update….it is now amazing castle V. 4.0. you can either download it there or from this link:

    https://dl.dropbox.com/s/dz92q2xd3pwnfce/amazing%20castle.scworld?dl=1

  13. Posted September 16, 2013 at 04:06 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus, if its possible, create a in-game keyboard? With offensive word blocking? Only if its possible though. Anyone agree?

    • Posted September 16, 2013 at 12:09 | Permalink | Reply

      In-game blocking of ugly words people put on signs? Nice idea.

      • Posted September 17, 2013 at 17:07 | Permalink | Reply

        It would be pretty sweet. What would be displayed instead?

    • Posted September 16, 2013 at 14:12 | Permalink | Reply

      Yeah that will stop people from making worlds with curse words

  14. Noah Durkee
    Posted September 16, 2013 at 12:16 | Permalink | Reply

    I want to build roller coasters please do minecarts like minecraft has it

  15. Posted September 16, 2013 at 14:45 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi kaalus, I’ve managed to make a mod and implement it

  16. Posted September 16, 2013 at 15:18 | Permalink | Reply

    is there a way you can share it or no, and what type of mod is it?

    • Posted September 18, 2013 at 00:06 | Permalink | Reply

      I have, but my brother has put it somewhere deep in my android Files so no………also the mod is called Slender mod

  17. Posted September 16, 2013 at 15:22 | Permalink | Reply

    did anyone else know that minecraft has donkeys? I just found out :-\

  18. Posted September 16, 2013 at 18:24 | Permalink | Reply

    does mc pc have donkeys.

    • Posted September 16, 2013 at 18:39 | Permalink | Reply

      yes, I was watching a vid on YouTube and one of the guys rode a donkey.

      • Posted September 17, 2013 at 17:36 | Permalink | Reply

        ican get you a room just with out the towers.

  19. Posted September 16, 2013 at 19:01 | Permalink | Reply

    if you want me to make a room in my fort (coyote fort) just reply to me on
    my blog by clicking my name.

    • Posted September 16, 2013 at 19:26 | Permalink | Reply

      or reply underneth say what you want in them the rooms are 15by12 blocks and an option between 3 or 4 blocks high

      • Posted September 16, 2013 at 19:28 | Permalink | Reply

        i can do rooms with locks to and lifts if u want.

        • Posted September 16, 2013 at 19:29 | Permalink

          all for for free

        • Posted September 16, 2013 at 19:43 | Permalink

          I want a room with a lock and a lift

        • Posted September 17, 2013 at 01:08 | Permalink

          I want a big room with a mages tower and a lift with doors with locks and I want automatic lighting. if you don’t know how just experiment with a photodiode, not gate and wire and lights until the lights only turn on when it is night.

  20. Posted September 16, 2013 at 19:12 | Permalink | Reply

    if you want a house in my castle world leave a reply below. there are 4 houses left, 2 in which can be modified with exterior extras!

    • Posted September 17, 2013 at 17:08 | Permalink | Reply

      Can I have one?

      • Posted September 17, 2013 at 22:22 | Permalink | Reply

        you have one already…you were one of the first people to ask

        • Posted September 18, 2013 at 16:15 | Permalink

          oops. didn’t know, sorry. OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOPS

  21. mrdxn
    Posted September 16, 2013 at 19:34 | Permalink | Reply

    I have never ran into this problem yet. Guess I just got lucky. One thing with the coal blocks I have noticed is that using them in a furnace can be wasteful. It will smelt or cook an entire stack and if you keep the stack renewed and keep pulling out the finished product (keeping the furnace going without stopping) it will go a really long time., But it also will use up the block (which is made of 9 coal chunks) if you only put in say one item. In other words, just placing an item in the furnace automatically uses 1 fuel (weather it is a chunk or a entire block) no matter the size of the item stack. Don’t know if it’s possible but It would be nice if coal blocks would last for a certain number of uses.

  22. Posted September 16, 2013 at 19:44 | Permalink | Reply

    amazing castle is now called castle world so if u want updates look for castle world. Castle World V. 4.2 is now available for download.

    • blindasascourge
      Posted September 17, 2013 at 00:28 | Permalink | Reply

      Can I have a house built, but be a sort of shaman and that sort?

      • Posted September 17, 2013 at 00:53 | Permalink | Reply

        shaman? I will have to look that up

        • Posted September 17, 2013 at 01:10 | Permalink

          what do u mean by shaman

        • blindasascourge
          Posted September 17, 2013 at 01:17 | Permalink

          Like one connected with the

        • blindasascourge
          Posted September 17, 2013 at 01:18 | Permalink

          Whoops, like one connected with the spirit world, or maybe a dragon den so I can pretend to be dwagon?

        • Posted September 17, 2013 at 06:28 | Permalink

          I looked up shaman home on Google images and it gave me a circular hut, so I have been making a circular hut. will this be OK.

        • Posted September 17, 2013 at 07:15 | Permalink

          I’m sorry I couldn’t make the dragon thing but I’m finished making the hut I’ll be adding things periodicly, but I’ll update the world to Castle World V. 4.3 be sure to keep an eye out and I hope you like it.

  23. Posted September 16, 2013 at 19:53 | Permalink | Reply

    here is a little reminder I am SC#1Fan my account has been lost so now I will be Dietrich Morey

  24. Posted September 16, 2013 at 22:58 | Permalink | Reply

    Castle World V. 4.2.5 is now posted

    • Posted September 16, 2013 at 23:07 | Permalink | Reply

      Hey its me, David. The maker of kaalus city. I had to make a new blog because we got new accounts. (what up with that?) So check out my blog and reply about it plz. :)

  25. Posted September 17, 2013 at 01:52 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus could you maybe display what version blocks textures are because I would like to know if they are up to date before I download them.

  26. Posted September 17, 2013 at 02:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kallus How about a Flying Rideable Animal Like a Dragon That goes Really fast And when you go down it breaks the dirt as you go through it. Any Body Like My Ideas?

  27. Posted September 17, 2013 at 03:33 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus awesome game. Could you add people that live on the island like Villagers , Indians , and maybe Pirates.

    Also Twisters, white outs, and for a little fun the rare troll.

    Thanks

  28. Posted September 17, 2013 at 03:47 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus you should really make the werewolves a bit buffer. My friend was playing this game and said the werewolves where too skinny. Also you should make the controls better….yeah its below average let us say

  29. Posted September 17, 2013 at 07:17 | Permalink | Reply

    BTW everyone I came up with a cool idea. what if I started making ruins like in minecraft pc in my castle world so it would give you all reason to adventure? I will be updating the world and will let you know when I started adding them.

  30. Posted September 17, 2013 at 07:22 | Permalink | Reply

    Castle World V. 4.3 is out…..now I’m going to start working on the big plan with the ruins…btw there won’t be much to the ruins just traps but I’ll try to make the loot worth while

  31. Posted September 17, 2013 at 08:24 | Permalink | Reply

    so far so good I made 2 structures so far meaning 1 pyramid and 1 ruin both in which have traps and loot (including diamonds) I try not to make it too hard but I won’t make it too easy either, you just have to “watch your step” ?hint?

  32. Posted September 17, 2013 at 08:26 | Permalink | Reply

    tell me what you think is this a good idea to add structures like ruins and pyramids and fill them with traps and loot?

  33. Posted September 17, 2013 at 08:36 | Permalink | Reply

    http://db.tt/Z81cvo2e

  34. Posted September 17, 2013 at 08:38 | Permalink | Reply

    they both have insides to them and have individual loot and traps

    • Posted September 18, 2013 at 01:42 | Permalink | Reply

      I love the castle map. Maybe you should add an enemy castle might multiplayer ever come.

      • Posted September 18, 2013 at 02:36 | Permalink | Reply

        I have been thinking of adding an enemy castle, I just have to get the motivation to get myself to start. I am just worried though because if I add another castle, the world will lag a lot more than it already does (lag when building) I will start thinking of a different design for a castle and then I will build it. it will probably be around update 6.0, but good idea.

  35. Posted September 17, 2013 at 13:20 | Permalink | Reply

    Kaalus – What are the added benefits of going to 32 but blocks? Aside from them being more configurable, any examples or ideas of what you can or want to implement in the future? My first post =)

    • Posted September 17, 2013 at 13:47 | Permalink | Reply

      Lots of existing blocks would benefit. For example, we could have painted stairs, slabs, fences. Electric blocks could be placed on horizontal surfaces. Wires could coexist with electric devices in the same block. Torches that automatically go out after some time. No more 256 block types limit. No more 4 bits of data per block limit.

      • Posted September 17, 2013 at 16:29 | Permalink | Reply

        that sounds interesting, then maybe when the torch goes out u could relight it with a match?

  36. Posted September 17, 2013 at 17:25 | Permalink | Reply

    Castle World update V. 4.6 is now available to download. it contains three ruins, a pyramid, an abandoned mineshaft, and a small temple. all have loot and traps in them. enjoy.

  37. Posted September 17, 2013 at 17:40 | Permalink | Reply

    tomorow im doing a world with traps and im going to publish it

  38. Posted September 17, 2013 at 22:07 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey everyone! Check out this cool “God Mod” someone made. This mod gives you super strength in health. Click on my name to get this cool survivalcraft mod.

  39. Posted September 17, 2013 at 22:40 | Permalink | Reply

    When you added painted granite,i think you forgot painted cobble. :-)

  40. Posted September 17, 2013 at 23:24 | Permalink | Reply

    Type in Imgodnow as the world name to activate the mod that makes your health not go down so fast if an animal attacks. To find out how to become 100% invincible click my name. You will see a video someone on youtube called junken wheel posted.

  41. theuserofallusers
    Posted September 18, 2013 at 02:13 | Permalink | Reply

    Wait wouldn’t switching to 32 bits cause some lag
    I don’t know if My Ipod 4 can stay in this race much longer

    I need a better device or a computer version

  42. Marlon Neveu
    Posted September 18, 2013 at 02:19 | Permalink | Reply

    Somebody please reply. WHEN I UPDATED MY IPOD 5 TO iOS7 WILL IT DELTE MY SURVIVALCRAFT WORLDS IF THEY’RE NOT BACKED UP TO DROPBOX?

  43. Marlon Neveu
    Posted September 18, 2013 at 12:24 | Permalink | Reply

    I did.

    Sent from my iPod Touch 5th Gen.

  44. Posted September 20, 2013 at 18:14 | Permalink | Reply

    when will the version 1.23?

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42,679 other followers