Alpha 1.2 status and next update

Alpha 1.2 is still in certification. For some reason it’s taking longer (by 1 day as of today) than the earlier ones. Maybe there is a Christmas app rush in the marketplace?

Because animals are going to take some time to get done, I decided to do another, quick release in the meantime. It will contain the recent performance enhancements and some new surprise features as well :-) I don’t want you to miss out on these for too long. I’ll probably be sending it off to Microsoft this weekend.

I am going away for Christmas soon, but I’m taking a laptop with me and I hope I’ll still be able to put some hours into Survivalcraft while there. Don’t worry: working on it counts as a holiday as well ;-) I have done games before, but never had such a big and (mostly) friendly community around. When you are creating stuff like this or that with it, it’s just awesome. Can’t wait to see what are you going to build when you get stairs, doors, slabs and sneak mode.

16 Comments

  1. hypernova
    Posted December 15, 2011 at 11:54 | Permalink | Reply

    Ahhh! I’ve been checking the marketplace like twice an hour for the past 2 days! Its driving me crazy!! Everything im building right now would greatly benefit from slabs and doors so im waiting till update until I play again haha!!

  2. Posted December 15, 2011 at 12:41 | Permalink | Reply

    I’m waiting for the update too (as the others ). I Hope, it will be released today, so we can play it at the weekend :D (A weekend with SC is a good weekend)

    Kaalus, first, you’re great.
    Alpha 1.2 isn’t released yet and you will have the next update almost ready (even when its rather a small update)
    But, one thing, please try to add buckets for Alpha 1.3, so we can build pools for more beautiful buildings.
    Otherwise, take your time on your holiday and don’t work too much on SC^^

    When Alpha 1.2 is released, I will try to build a new uilding and maybe I show it in the forum :D

  3. dogmeat12
    Posted December 15, 2011 at 12:47 | Permalink | Reply

    Have a good holiday kaalus, dont do too much!!??;-) And cheers for all the hard work, cant wait til 2morow!!

  4. dogmeat12
    Posted December 15, 2011 at 12:48 | Permalink | Reply

    Oh yeah, Merry Christmas to everyone!! Ave a good un!!;-)

  5. Daniel
    Posted December 15, 2011 at 16:50 | Permalink | Reply

    Something I think it must be easy to add and that will provide a lot of game fun could be add more ores or blocks, it will be great to be able of build a white or black building.

    Of course buckets will be great too :-)

    This game is becoming huge!

  6. kenkesey8
    Posted December 15, 2011 at 17:22 | Permalink | Reply

    Could you tell me how many layers of Bedrock are there in the bottom of the map?
    I tried to figure it out in the game, but I’m not sure I have the right number, and I want to be sure because I’ll write it on the wikia page. thx

  7. Daniel Jackson
    Posted December 15, 2011 at 17:25 | Permalink | Reply

    I agree with the above poster when they said dont work too hard over the holidays, you have given us much to be happy with, in fact your player base is very very happy. Just make sure you get good holiday time in.

    I’m glad the community is very good to you kaalus and eachother. I can’t thank you enough for all the awesome hard work, thank you.

  8. Posted December 15, 2011 at 18:20 | Permalink | Reply

    pleas pleas i want grass to grow on places where is only dirt :/ also i like your game TOTALYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY :D

  9. Posted December 15, 2011 at 19:50 | Permalink | Reply

    Oh that’s my castle you linked to! Nice one Kaalus, have a great Christmas and have some well deserved rest.

  10. Posted December 15, 2011 at 20:55 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Kaalus :)
    I’m from Germany , so my englisch isnt very good. I really like your Game very much , but i want to say something to you.
    Since Survivalcraft Alpha 1.0 im waiting vor the Multiplayer Update ..Some of my friends have got a new Windows phone , and it would be so cool to Play with them in one World together over the Internet .
    Great Job , :)
    Gruß aus Deutschland
    Marc

    • Posted December 15, 2011 at 22:18 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Marc. I agree that multiplayer would be an awesome thing to have. But you must also understand that it is a massive task, especially on the phone. Notch spent months doing it, and then it took even longer to iron out all the bugs. I only plan to start on it when singleplayer is more solid. There are no animals and no survival features yet.

  11. kenkesey8
    Posted December 15, 2011 at 21:12 | Permalink | Reply

    Maybe this is a bit too much to ask, but I was hoping that you could tell me the following infos: (for the wikia, that can be found here: http://www.survivalcraftwp.wikia.com)
    Which layers are coal ore, iron ore, and copper ore generated in?
    How many layers of bedrock are there in the bottom of the map?
    I would really appreciate it if you could answer these questions. I made ~8 wiki pages today, and I just thought these plus infos would make them a bit more interesting.
    Cheers

    • Posted December 15, 2011 at 22:10 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi. It is not easy to answer this, generation algorithm is fairly complicated. The best that can be said in a simple way is that coal can be found as high up as surface, iron is a bit deeper and copper is deeper still.

      There are between 2 and 5 blocks of bedrock at the bottom of the world.

  12. LUCKYSHOT52
    Posted December 15, 2011 at 22:43 | Permalink | Reply

    Mostly friendly come on man what’s that supposed to mean?

    • Posted December 15, 2011 at 23:11 | Permalink | Reply

      So far I only had to censor one comment here, out of some 600. So it’s 599 out of 600 mostly :-)

      • LUCKYSHOT52
        Posted December 15, 2011 at 23:52 | Permalink | Reply

        Yay only one dudes a hater=D

Leave a Reply. No swearing please.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42,609 other followers